Posted on: January 21, 2021 Posted by: Iulia Vasile Comments: 0
romania travel restrictions covid-19 european union travel

Romania has some travel restrictions during the Covid-19 pandemic, but there is much hope that most restrictions will be lifted once travellers will start to make proof that they have been vaccinated.

Romania Travel Restrictions For EU Citizens

During the pandemic, all Romanian embassies stopped processing visas for those who need a visa to enter Romania. Those who may need a visa to make an essential travel to Romania, still need to address the closest Romanian Embassy and ask for a visa. Check here the list with all Romanian Embassies.

As part of the European Union, Romania has set in place travel restrictions for the citizens of some European countries.

Generally speaking, Romania is allowing entry without restriction from the EU and the Schengen states, with the exception of travellers coming from ‘countries or areas that are considered at high epidemiological risk.’ It also included Romanian citizens coming from these countries.

Those entering from countries considered to be at high epidemiological risk, must quarantine for 14 days.

Every two weeks, Romania updates the list of the EU and Schengen states that are considered at high epidemiological risk and for which quarantine is mandatory. While the negative test result is not necessary to enter Romania, airports do have screening methods set in place and the police si randomly checking on those who have to quarantine.

You can find the latest list in a pdf format, here.

Exceptions from the 14 day quarantine upon arriving in Romania

There are two exceptions to this rule. Those who stay less than 72 hours and hold a valid negative test result for Covid-19 (SARS-CoV-2) which was issued no more than 48 hours before entering Romania, do not need to quarantine.

After arriving in Romania and quarantined at home, you have the option to reduce the quarantine to 10 days “if a test for SARS-CoV-2, performed on day 8 of the quarantine provides a negative result, and the person has no symptoms.

Romania Travel Restriction for Non-EU Residents

According to the European Council website, the are only a few non-EU that are allowed to travel to the EU. There countries are:

  • Australia
  • Japan
  • New Zealand
  • Rwanda
  • Singapore
  • South Korea
  • Thailand
  • China, subject to confirmation of reciprocity
  • *Andorra, Monaco, San Marino and the Vatican are under the same conditions as EU citizens.
  • Schengen associated countries (Iceland, Lichtenstein, Norway, Switzerland)

The EU is regularly reviews the epidemiological state of non-EU countries and updates the list, if necessary.

US citizens aren’t allowed to enter the EU. Reciprocity is taken into account when updating the list of countries allowed to enter the EU and the US banned European travellers in the summer of 2020.

In 2020, the European Union also launched ReOpen Europe, a platform for travellers to get all the info about how they can travel to the EU countries.

Leave a Comment